Supermoon 2018 in USA: Where is it visible tonight? | Science | News


The supermoon will peak in the night sky at 9.24pm EST (2.24am GMT Tuesday January 2).

The peak comes hours after it reaches its perigee – its closest point to Earth for the month at 4.54pm EST (9.54pm GMT January 1).

According to EarthSky.org, the moon will be able 221,559 miles (356,565 kilometres) from Earth at its perigee. 

NASA has said a supermoon can appear as much as 14 percent bigger and 30 percent brighter than when a full moon is at its farthest distance.

It is the second supermoon in a ‘supermoon trilogy’, the first supermoon appeared on December 3 2017 and the last in the series will appear on January 31.

The January 31 supermoon is the second full moon of January, making it a Blue Moon and it will occur during a total lunar eclipse.

Tonight’s full moon is known as a ‘Full Wolf Moon’ – a name coined by early Native American tribes as it was the time of year when hungry wolf packs howled outside their camps.

Where is the supermoon visible in the USA tonight?

The supermoon will peak in the USA during the late hours of New Year’s Day [January 1).

It will reach its peak at the following times:

• 10.24pm Atlantic Standard Time (AST)

• 9.24pm Eastern Standard Time (EST)

• 8.24pm Central Standard Time (CST)

• 7.24pm Mountain Standard Time (MST)

• 6.24pm Pacific Standard Time (PST)

• 5.24pm Alaska Standard Time (AKST)

• 4.24pm Hawaiian Standard Time (HST)

For stargazers in New York City, the moon will rise in the east-northeastern sky at 4.34pm EST and stay up through the night, setting at 7.36am EST on January 2.

You can find out the times of the moonrise and moonset times in different time zones on timeanddate.com.

When is the next supermoon?

Supermoons happen when a full moon approximately coincides with the moon’s perigee or a point in its orbit at which it is closest to Earth. 

In 2018, there will be one other supermoon on January 31 and it will be the second full moon of January, making it a Blue Moon and it will occur during a total lunar eclipse.

“The lunar eclipse on January 31 will be visible during moonset. Folks in the Eastern United States, where the eclipse will be partial, will have to get up in the morning to see it,” Noah Petro, a research scientist from NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Centre said.

There will be a total lunar eclipse on January 31 in North America, Asia, and Australia, among other places, which will turn the blue moon red.

NASA has billed the January 31 moon a “super blue blood moon.”



Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

These Record-Breaking Simulations of The Universe Aim to Solve a ‘Tiny’ Problem
Finally, a Fusion Reaction Has Generated More Energy Than Absorbed by The Fuel
Physicists Confirm The Existence of Time Crystals in Epic Quantum Computer Simulation
AI Is Discovering Patterns in Pure Mathematics That Have Never Been Seen Before
This New Ultra-Compact Camera Is The Size of a Grain of Salt And Takes Stunning Photos

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *