August Full Moon: What time will Full Moon peak tonight – How to see the Moon | Science | News


Tonight’s brightly lit Moon marks the very last Full Moon of the summertime as the calendars turn over into Autumn next month.

The August Full Moon is also the ninth Full Moon this year, out of the 13 in the current lunar cycle.

The Moon officially lit up 100 percent in the Sun’s rays earlier today at 12.56pm BST (11.56am UT).

This means on the US East Coast the Moon lit up at around 7.56am ET.

On the West Coast the Moon showed up even earlier, around 4.56am PT.

For the best chance of seeing the Moon you will have to wait until around sunset local time, when the skies begin to darken.

In the UK today, when observed from London, the Sun rises at 6.03am and sets at 8pm BST.

The Moon is expected to follow soon after, showing up over the horizon at 8.19pm BST.

In Glasgow, however, the Sun rises and sets a bit later, at 6.09am BST and 8.26pm BST respectively.

The Moon set below the horizon up north at 5.45am BST today and will not peak back over the horizon until 8.46pm BST.

All of these times will differ to varying degrees depending on where you live.

You can check your local sunset and moonrise times by clicking here.

How to see the Full Moon tonight

The brilliant August Full Moon will position itself at 180 degrees in relation to the Sun tonight, meaning it will be directly opposite the burning star.

This opposite alignment to the Sun once a month is what creates the Full Moon phase of the lunar calendar.

Everyone around the world, with the exception of the far North Arctic latitudes, should see the Moon illuminate the skies tonight without a problem.

Weather permitting, the Full Moon will be visible from dusk till dawn high up in the skies.

Around the time the Full Moon peaks, it rises in the east around sunset and sets in the west around sunrise,

Your best bet over the next few nights is to search for the lunar orb in the western sky around dawn.

EarthSky astronomer Bruce McClure explained: “On August 25 and 26, 2018, everyone around the world will see a full-looking moon lighting up the nighttime from dusk until dawn.

“In North America, we often call the August full moon the Sturgeon Moon, Green Corn Moon or Grain Moon.

“In the Southern Hemisphere, where it’s the opposite season, this is third and final full moon of winter.”



Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

‘Structured Water’ Is Not What People Claim. Don’t Believe The Hype, Scientist Says
Physicists Finally Measure a Long Theorized Molecule Made From Light And Matter
Water Can Spontaneously Form Hydrogen Peroxide, And We Finally Understand Why
Warm Waters Are Rushing Towards The World’s Largest Ice Sheet, Scientists Warn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.