Earthquake news: San Francisco del Mar in Mexico hit after California rocked | Science | News


The earthquake off the coast of San Francisco del Mar, in Mexico, registered a magnitude of 4.3, according to the US Geological Survey (USGS).

It struck at 3.32am PST (11.32am GMT), just over an hour after San Diego was hit by a 4.1 magnitude quake.

The shock, at 2.09am PST (10.09am GMT), had an epicentre 3 miles (5km) north east of Trabuco Canyon in California.

The Mexican quake was 54 miles (87km) south of the coast and at 22 miles deep (35km).

Both tremors came just days after the massive earthquake hit Alaska and triggered warnings of a tsunami hitting Canada, Hawaii and much of west coast America.

No tsunami warning was issued after the Mexican undersea tremor.

Earthquakenewstoday.com wrote: “Earthquakes of four to five magnitudes are often felt, but only causes minor damage. 

“There are an estimated 13,000 light quakes in the world each year. 

“In the past 24 hours, there have been one, in the last ten days two, in the past 30 days eight and in the last 365 days four hundred and fifteen earthquakes of magnitude 3.0 or greater that was reported nearby.”



Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Physicists Finally Measure a Long Theorized Molecule Made From Light And Matter
Warm Waters Are Rushing Towards The World’s Largest Ice Sheet, Scientists Warn
Water Can Spontaneously Form Hydrogen Peroxide, And We Finally Understand Why

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.