Eclipse 2018 US LIVE stream: Watch the Super Blue Blood Moon TODAY over USA | Science | News


boffins in North America will be treated to an exciting view of the total lunar eclipse, when the moon passes through the shadow cast by Earth and the sun.

For the first time since 1866, a total lunar eclipse will coincide with a supermoon and are expecting Hawaii, California and Alaska to get the best view. 

Unfortunately this means that other parts of the US will only see a partial eclipse, and those living on the East Coast might even miss out on it.

But there is still hope to catch a glimpse of it thanks to NASA’s online live stream, which you can watch above

The Penumbral phase of the eclipse will begin today at 5.51am EST (10.51am GMT), and you can follow NASA’s live coverage starting from 5.30am EST (10.30am GMT).

You can follow the live feed on NASA TV and NASA Live above.

Additionally you can follow NASA’s live tweets at @NASAMoon.

If you live in Western North America, Alaska, or Hawaii the eclipse will be visible just before sunrise on Wednesday January 31.

Read more:

The lunar event will conclude NASA’s “lunar trifecta” or “Supermoon Trilogy”. 

The super blue blood moon could see the full moon take on a red hue and swell up to 14 precent bigger ad 30 percent brighter as it approaches Earth during the eclipse.

Gordon Johnston, program executive and lunar blogger at NASA Headquarters, said: “For the continental US, the viewing will be best in the West.

“Set your alarm early and go out and take a look.”

The online eclipse broadcast will feature various views from NASA’s telescopes at the Armstrong Flight Research Center in Edwards, California; Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles; and the University of Arizona’s Mt. Lemmon SkyCenter Observatory.

Those in the Middle East, Asia, eastern Russia, Australia and New Zealand will have a chance to see the super blue blood moon eclipse during moonrise and the evening hours of Wednesday.

Mr Johnston added: “Weather permitting, the West Coast, Alaska and Hawaii will have a spectacular view of totality from start to finish. 

“Unfortunately, eclipse viewing will be more challenging in the Eastern time zone. 

“The eclipse begins at 5:51 AM ET, as the Moon is about to set in the western sky, and the sky is getting lighter in the east.”

Alongside NASA’s live feed, you robotic telescope Slooh will host its own Slooh Blue Supermoon Total Lunar Eclipse livecast tomorrow at 5.45am EST (10.45am GMT).

The live stream will feature online feeds form space observatories in Hawaii, Australia and Asia.

Slooh said: “The Supermoon Trilogy we’ve been experiencing since December will end with a bang on January 31, combining a Supermoon, a Blue Moon, and a Total Lunar Eclipse. 

“Slooh will livecast the entire eclipse, starting at 5.45am EST. 

“Its duration is a projected 5 hours, 17 minutes, with the total phase lasting 1 hour, 16 minutes, starting at just after 7.50am EST.”

The Griffith Observatory in Los Angeles will also host a live stream of the eclipse today with the help of telescopes stationed in the US and Australia. You can watch it here between 6.30am EST (11.30am GMT) and 11am EST (4pm GMT).

The Italy-based Virtual Telescope Project will stream live the eclipse from Rome as well starting at 9am EST (4pm GMT). Watch it online here.





Source link

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Future Aliens Will Have to Hunt Foreign Stars in Their Struggle For Survival
New eruption observed at Krakatau volcano, Indonesia
Volcanic unrest around the world: eruptions at Fernandina island (Galapagos), Sakurajima (Japan), Klyuchevskoy (Russia) and Kilauea (USA)
Are ghosts real? Scientists claim to have just discovered the TRUTH | Science | News
Summer solstice 2018: Rituals and solstice meaning for first day of summer TOMORROW | Weird | News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *